Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: 05 hemi Ram twin turbo build

Default 05 hemi Ram twin turbo build

Hello everyone, i am new to the site. My name us Waldo and live in New York City. I have owned my Ram for a littleover 2 years. I had told myself that was not going to touch the truck other than the basic CAI, exhaust, etc. Fast forward and here we are, the performance bug has bit me again. I decided to go turbo with this truck. I have a little experience with turbos, but i am a complete newbie when it comes to modifying Dodges and this is where i need your help. I will have many questions as this build progresses.

First thing i did was weld the oil return fittings to the oil pan. In this pic you can only see the plugs

After removing the oil pan to install the fittings i got a nice surprise, the previous owner had installed Mahle cast piston, though not forged, from my research it should allow me to run and extra psi or 2 of boost. Also the pistons are thermal coated! (Seen with an inspection camera thru a spark plug hole)

I then came across an srt10 rear and installed that.

Then, i started with a support bar to hold the weight of the turbos, which by the way, are a pair of GT30's.

For headers, i decided to go with "log" style headers for simplicity and to keep cost down. I used schedule 10, 304 and 316 stainless with a pair of half inch stainless header flanges.

I started the driver side turbo "up-pipe" which i didnt fully finish as i messed up my welders tip after dropping it. The wire was not flowing smoothly therefore the ugly tacks LOL!

I will get to the other side over the weekend and will hopefully start on the downpipes aswell if i get the mandrel bends before the weekend.

This will be a cool build.
    Welcome aboard!
    '04 Ram STS Turbo

'06 Magnum SRT8

Thanks!. I have many questions with this build, specially what i can remove and get away with without generating computer/tunning problems (such as cats, egr, etc)